Let’s all have a quick look through my rubbish bin, shall we?

empties

  • Pixi Glow Tonic

Everyone and their mother has been raving about this exfoliating toner so, of course, I had to try it out for myself. I wanted to love this product, I really did. I totally fell for the hype and was kind of expecting miracles and although I didn’t hate this product, I was let down. I didn’t notice that it really did anything major for my skin; my skin did feel clean and refreshed, but I didn’t notice much improvement in the texture or condition of my skin. I’m considering giving it one more try, just because I’ve never found a toner that I love, so this one is as good as any, but I’m not too sad to see this product go.

  • Caudalíe Micellar Cleansing Water

I have mixed feelings about this product. For the first half of the bottle, I loved it. My skin felt clean and refreshed and it did a better job of getting off my makeup than other cleansing waters. However, I fell out of love with this after a while because my skin was being more problematic than before and I felt like this wasn’t doing enough; I wanted a deeper clean, a more effective cleanser. If you have reasonably good skin, I would recommend this, but personally, I think I’m over the micellar water hype and will probably go back to a cleansing balm.

  • Soap & Glory Smoothie Star Breakfast Scrub

This is smells incredible. It contains banana, almond and honey extracts and has a maple scent which honestly smells edible. I’d almost buy it it for the scent alone. As a scrub, I like it, but I don’t think anything will ever replace my holy grail scrub; Buffy from Lush. That being said, I run out of Buffy quite quickly sometimes, and when I do, I like to pick up the Breakfast Scrub from Boots to tide me over until I have time to go to Lush again. Bear in mind that I do have eczema, so I’m a pretty harsh critic when it comes to scrubs, lotions, etc. If you have normal-ish skin, I think you’ll love this.

  • Soap & Glory Sugar Crush Body Wash

This is a body wash, so… it gets me clean and smells good. That’s about all I can say about a body wash, really. It has a very sweet and fresh lime scent, which I really love. I actually don’t like most of the scents from Soap & Glory, apart from Sugar Crush and the Breakfast Scrub; the rest are too sweet and sickly for my taste. I’ll probably buy it again eventually, if the mood strikes me, but I never really have any loyalty for body washes.

  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer in Fair Neutral

I LOVE this. Love love love love love love. I’m sure everyone has heard plenty about these concealers by now, but I’m just adding my voice to the mix because I have to share my love for these concealers. I’m so fussy when it comes to concealers, but this one is perfect. It gives such high coverage, blends beautifully and isn’t drying. A little goes such a long way, and with three new shades launched recently, the colour range is pretty great too. I immediately repurchased this when I ran out, although I did get Light Neutral instead, as by some miracle, I managed to tan a little. HG concealer, can’t recommend it enough.

  • Seventeen Long Lash Mascara

When I first used this, I quite liked it; the wand is very thin, so it’s easy to get right into your lashes. It didn’t give me crazy length or volume, but it was y’know, fine. However, after a few uses, the formula got kind of gross and clumpy, and for some reason, there was so much excess product all over the top of the tube that I had to throw it out because it just didn’t seem hygienic anymore. I also felt like the product was running out pretty quickly, although that could be because it was all over the tube instead.

  • Nip+Fab Dragons Blood Fix Pads

I’m not going to say very much about these because I raved about them in my July Favourites. But I did quickly want to mention that I’m still in love; I re-purchased these as soon as they ran out, and I’m taking them to Electric Picnic with me this weekend to be my one-step skincare.

And now I can finally throw out all the rubbish I’ve been hoarding! Empties are so weird, you guys, I’ve had some of these empty bottles just sitting around for weeks.

Much love,

Cíara xo

emptiestoby
My assistant pupper lending his expertise
Leave a Reply

