Soooo I’m just gonna pop back on in here and hope no one noticed my absence. Just stepped out for a second, back to business as usual, what were we talking about? Oh, July favourites? Okay, here you go;

The Dragons Blood Fix cleansing pads from Nip+Fab have been an absolute godsend recently. I use them either on their own, when I’m lazy or travelling, or I use them for a second cleanse. They’re so hydrating, but don’t make me oily at all and they smell incredible. They contain both salicylic and hyaluronic  acids, so they’re an absolute dream for my problematic skin, leaving it cleansed, plumped and soothed. New holy grail, for sure. (And FYI, they’re currently half price at Boots. You’re welcome). I’ve also used the serum and mask from the Dragons Blood line, and I’ve loved both. I’m definitely interested in trying some more Nip+Fab products, so if anyone has any recommendations let me know in the comments.

Another skin care favourite this month is the Urban Decay B6 prep spray. I picked this up pretty recently and at first I actually thought it was going to be more like a primer, because it had “prep” in the name. I was wrong, obviously, but I still ended up really liking this spray. I haven’t been using it long enough to notice any major change, but my skin does seem calmer and instantly feels refreshed whenever I use this. I’ve been using this spray right before I moisturise in the morning and at night, and the extra step makes my skin care feel just a touch more luxurious. It’s the little things.

Moving away from skin care and on to makeup, I have one stand out favourite this month. I fell back in love with an old flame this month. There was a hole in my life, a gaping void, and until this love was rekindled, I didn’t realise that this was so clearly what had been missing. Ladies and gentlemen, making a grand reappearance back into my makeup bag… Too Faced’s Better Than Sex mascara, in both the regular and waterproof formulas. I feel like I’ve probably talked about this mascara before, but I don’t care because I’m smitten again. I picked up a travel size version when I was in America in November, and when that ran out, I decided to try other things. See other mascaras, y’know, discover what else was out there. But I was kidding myself. This mascara is my one true love and I’m never leaving it again. I do prefer the original formula over the waterproof, but they’re both stellar mascaras; they lengthen wonderfully, curl beautifully and love me like no other mascara ever has. Am I taking this metaphor a bit far? Yeah, probably…moving on…

Better Than Sex Mascara
*angels singing*

I want to quickly mention a new bronzer favourite; the Urban Decay Beached Bronzer in the shade Bronzed, which is the darker shade. I’m not going to lie to you; while I did need a bronzer, I did no research and bought this one just because I loved the packaging – it’s so pretty I could cry. However, this turned out to be a really beautiful bronzer and I’m considering getting the lighter shade, Sunkissed, too. I’m big fan of doing my bronzing and contouring all in one go (or “brontouring,” if you will – is that the official term now? Because I’m pretty sure lazy girls everywhere have been doing it forever) and this product does a pretty good job, although I feel like by winter it’s going to be a touch too dark.

Beached Bronzer in color

Yet another favourite from Urban Decay this month is the Afterglow Eight Hour Highlighter in Sin. This is one of the prettiest, most intense, shimmery highlighters I have ever used and I’m so in love. You do have to take care not to be too heavy-handed, but if you’re like me and want your highlight to be seen from space then this is perfect for you.

 

AFTERGLOW 8-HOUR POWDER HIGHLIGHTER in color Sin

Those of you who follow me on Instagram might have noticed that I’ve reverted to pink hair, yet again. And, yet again, I’ve been using The Big Pink, from Bleach London. It’s my favourite pink dye out of the few I’ve tried, and it’s definitely the most convenient, priced in Boots at only  €6.99. I wash my hair about every second day, or more, so I get about two weeks between dyes. Not ideal, but pretty good as semi-permanent colours go.

Last but certainly not least, I have a TV show favourite. I just couldn’t do a July favourites without mentioning Stranger Things, a new Netflix original series. Guys, it’s so good, I watched the whole series in two days and I’m already planning to re-watch it. As far as I’m concerned, it’s flawless. The characters, especially Eleven and Mike, are so wonderful and so lovable and so well-developed and the plot is just crazy and, oh my goodness, Winona Ryder can do no wrong. Oh, and the aesthetic. I am so into all the eighties vibes going around; from the Wet Hot American Summer Netflix series, to Everybody Wants Some (great movie, btw, highly recommend) to the abundance of ringer tees making a comeback, I am all about it, and Stranger Things is perfect. I feel like the story wouldn’t work half as well if they had set it anywhere other than a small town in the eighties. Give me all the high waist shorts and eighties mix tapes please. Shot for shot, this series is incredible. I could geek out about technical aspects of it for hours, it’s visually stunning. I know everyone has been binge watching recently, but if you are one of the few who hasn’t, then just drop everything and watch it. Don’t deprive yourself, you won’t regret it.

Hope I’ve inspired you guys to try some of this stuff out; thanks for reading!

xo Cíara

 

2 thoughts on “July Favourites

Leave a Reply

