January Favourites

I can’t believe that January is over already, I swear I was covered in glitter and counting down to New Years just a week ago. Anyway, here are some of the things I’ve been loving this past month.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz

This is hands down the pencil brow pencil I’ve ever used. It is so easy to create the perfect brow with this, it feels like it does all the work for me. It’s not soft or too stiff and the colour range is pretty great. I use Soft Brown, although I’m considering getting a darker shade for the tail end of my brow. My one complaint is that the product doesn’t last very long; I’ve been using mine since the end of November and it’s pretty much gone already. For the price, I do wish the product would go a little further, but they can’t be faulted on quality.

Charlotte Tilbury K.I.S.S.I.N.G Lipstick in “Stoned Rose”

If I’m wearing a lipstick that’s not a bold colour, it’s almost definitely this one. It’s the perfect everyday colour. It’s a dark pinkish nude, which I love because the majority of nude or light lipsticks just don’t suit me; my lips have a pretty strong natural pigment and I’m not quite as pale skinned as your average Irish girl, so the I find that most nudes just wash me out and make me look ill. Stoned Rose is the everyday shade I’ve always been looking for. The formula is incredible, it’s long lasting and non-drying and even when it does fade, it’s a gradual, even fade that doesn’t leave you looking like a hot mess. I actually have quite a collection of Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks and love pretty much all of them, but since toning down my bold Christmas lips to more daytime appropriate looks I’ve just been inseparable from this colour.

Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm

I’ve recently started using this instead of Ultrabland from Lush; I still adore Ultrabland, but I find that my skin gets used to products, making them less effective, so I get the best results when I switch up my routine. This cleansing balm is amazing at taking everything off my face, including stubborn mascara, but it isn’t at all harsh or drying. Unfortunately, it is outrageously expensive, although you do get your moneys worth- it lasts an amazingly long time; I’ve been using it all month and have barely made a dent in it.

Urban Outfitters W.I.P Nail Polish in “Marsala.”

No word of a lie, I literally have not worn another colour on my nails all month. I absolutely love this shade and it’s surprisingly good quality. I’ve used quite a few shades from this range (because they put them beside where you queue and I have no self control) and while I’ve found any of their glitter or shimmer polishes to be unimpressive, the regular colours are long lasting and completely opaque in two coats.

Vertical Striped Shirt, H&M.

I have been so into vertical stripes. They elongate your figure, instantly add a little kick to your outfit and in black and white, they go with basically everything. I’ve been obsessed with this collarless shirt that I got on sale in H&M and sized up for a looser, more casual fit, but I’ve also seen some great ones in Zara. I’m not really a fan of horizontal stripes, but switch them around and they become an instant new staple of my wardrobe.

 

Leave a Reply

